Planning Commission


The Middle Smithfield Township Planning Commission meetings are held on the third Thursday of every month in the Schoonover Municipal Building at 5:30 p.m.  These meetings are open to the public. Any person with a disability requiring a special accommodation to attend any Township meeting should notify the secretary at 570 223-8920 as early as possible, but no later than three working days prior to the meeting.  The Board will make every effort to provide a reasonable accommodation. For Panning Commission Minutes and Agendas, Click Here


Act of 1968, P.L.805, No.247, Section 202. Planning Commission. If the governing body of any municipality shall elect to create a planning commission, such commission shall have not less than three nor more than nine members. Except for elected or appointed officers or employees of the municipality, members of the commission may receive compensation in an amount fixed by the governing body. Compensation shall not exceed the rate of compensation authorized to be paid to members of the governing body. Without exception, members of the planning commission may be reimbursed for necessary and reasonable expenses. However, elected or appointed officers or employees of the municipality shall not, by reason of membership thereon, forfeit the right to exercise the powers, perform the duties or receive the compensations of the municipal offices held by them during such membership.

The Planning Commission consists of seven residents of the township and are appointed by the Supervisors for a term of four years.  The terms are staggered so that there are always experienced members on the commission. The Commission serves as an advisory board that makes recommendations to the Supervisors, Zoning Hearing Board, and to the Zoning Officer. The Commission also reviews all major and minor subdivisions, land development plans and any new zoning changes such as variances or home occupations.  The Commission recently completed the Township comprehensive Plan. A project that took years to develop.  This was approved by the Supervisors in 2000.  The members of the Commission also meet with the Supervisors from time to time to work on new zoning changes and ordinances. Click here to view the meeting minutes for meetings beginning in 2014.

Planning Commission Members


Mark W. Oney

Vice Chairman

Bob Early


Wayne Bolt
Carrie Wetherbee
Dr. William W. Suriano
Parin Shah


Gilmore & Associates Fred Courtright, PE


Firm of Scanlon, Lewis Williamson Todd Weitzmann, Esq.

Recording Secretary

Michele Clewell

The Board of Supervisors adopted the Plan Application and Retainer Fee Calculation Form by Resolution No. 01-2011-01 on January 3, 2011. Middle Smithfield Township Plan Application and Retainer Fee Calculation Form

The Middle Smithfield Township Comprehensive Plan Update: 2007 was completed in December of 2007.  The Board of Supervisors adopted the Comprehensive Plan Update by Resolution No. 2008-02-01 on February 14, 2008.  Copies are available for purchase at the township office or can be downloaded. Middle Smithfield Township Comprehensive Plan: Update 2007 (13.98mb)